Triple H, October 2011:

“When I grew up, I hated Hogan. I thought he was terrible and didn’t like to watch him. I was like Punk in a way. I liked the Steamboats and Flairs and the ones that could go. Would I be right in saying that Hogan was the wrong guy to go with, and they should’ve changed directions and gone with Steamboat because he was the better wrestler? Ludicrous.” - Triple H. October, 2011.

The History of the Number One Contender Battle Royal

Sunday, April 08, 2007

THE HISTORY OF THE NUMBER ONE CONTENDER BATTLE ROYAL(Part 5 in the series of title histories; beginning in 1991, every other year, following Wrestlemania, WWF has kicked off its new cycle with a 30 man battle royal. A battle royal was held in 1996, and the event is now in even numbered years. In 2004, the battle royal was held after Summer Slam, as will be the case in 2006. In an ideal Counterfactual, this event would be called the Royal Rumble – and the Royal Rumble event would be called Justice Sunday. However, to avoid confusion, we do it like this.)

1991 Winner: Davey Boy Smith (last elimination – Sid)
1993 Winner: Razor Ramon (last elimination – Shawn Michaels)
1995 Winner: Hakushi (last elimination – Razor Ramon)
1996 Winner: Owen Hart (last elimination – Steve Austin)
1998 Winner: Cactus Jack (last elimination – Steve Austin)
2000 Winner: The Rock (last elimination – Chris Jericho)
2002 Winner: Rey Mysterio, Jr. (last elimination – Shawn Michaels)
2004 Winner: Eddy Guerrero (last elimination – Christian)

No comments

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It